Now what was it I was going to do?

Today seems to be one of those days when I don’t end up doing things that I thought I would be doing – like right now… I came upstairs to spin, then remembered I was going to blog….

This morning I baked cake, I did not intend to bake cake but somehow it just happened that I decided to bake cake. It all began with the sour dough.

A group of my Ravelry friends have got me into making sour dough starter, I call mine Horace as he is always hungry it seems. Now if you have ever dabbled in sour dough or come across friendship cake (which seems to have changed its name over the years to be called Herman the German cake) you will be aware that it needs looking after. Tender loving care to be precise otherwise it dies or becomes smelly – not good!

I started my starter last Monday and have fed, halved, stirred and re fed it keeping it pleasantly warm most of the time. It soon lets you know when its not warm enough as it sulks and separates. At this point I give it a good stir, a little food, warm it up and off it goes again!

Friday I made my usual pizza and bread and used a little of the starter as I was not confident of it working without some ‘proper’ yeast. The dough was silky and smooth, it felt lovely. The pizza and bread turned out just fine.

P1290489P1290492

So this morning after decanting a little for my neighbour to collect later I used a cupful of starter with 2 cups of flour to see how it would get on alone. While it was proving I decided to make the cake….. before I could turn around its lunch time. Where did the morning go?

My days seem to be a bit like this, I can’t say I have done anything in particular just been constantly on the go. I have spun some more yarn, this time to make gloves. Its merino and very soft, in lovely autumn shades. The first glove is part knit.

P1290486P1290515

and the yarn I spun previously is now a little throw.

P1290511

It is lovely knitting with my own hand spun. It feels very squishy and soft.

Saturday we attended the Snods Edge Beer Festival with Christopher and Helen. They had a great time tasting local beers with Robert, I was designated driver which is fine as I don’t care for beer. Snods Edge is a small Hamlet along the road from us. Our house comes within the parish church boundary. We are 20 houses here at Bridge Island – there are only150 in the whole parish! There always seems to be some event or other happening in the village hall and this one was well attended. We arrived at 3.30pm and left around 6, the event went on until 11pm and as we left a small coach party arrived, looked like they were in for a busy night too.

2012-10-06 16.59.22

To our surprise we received a telephone call Sunday evening to say we had won one of the door prizes, Chocolates, fizzy wine and a DVD – sound like a recipe for a good night in!

Our days are much cooler now and another frosty morning today meant Robert had to clean the car off before he could leave for work. The past few days have been sunny however showing up some lovely autumn colours around the garden.

P1290495

P1290493

So now back to where I was going …. spinning for a while….more soon!

Doing an edit on this to re publish. I published on Monday but it looks like the e-mail notifications did not go out. If you are getting it twice I apologise… if not – enjoy!

Leave a Reply

